Modern History MCQ (Pages :52)

  • 1 Gandhi-Irwin Pact was signed on 15th March ______?

    (A) 1928
    (B) 1930
    (C) 1931
    (D) 1935
  • 2 The famous resolution on Non-Cooperation under the inspiration of Mahatma Gandhi was adopted in a special session of Congress held at Calcutta in?

    (A) September 1920
    (B) December 1922
    (C) October 1924
    (D) November 1925
  • 3 The Swaraj Party was organised by?

    (A) Lala Lajapat Rai and Feroze Shah Mehta
    (B) Sarojini Naidu and Annie Besant
    (C) CR Das and Motilal Nehru
    (D) C Rajagopalachari and CY Chintamani
  • 4 In what session did Congress declared complete Independence (Poorna Swaraj) as its goal?

    (A) Lahore session held in 1929
    (B) Madras session held in 1927
    (C) Ahmadabad session held in 1921
    (D) Gaya session held in 1922
  • 5 When was the first Independence day unofficially celebrated before Independence?

    (A) On 26th January 1929
    (B) On 26th January 1931
    (C) On 26th January 1935
    (D) On 26th January 1930
  • 6 Who was the British Prime Minister who convened the First Round Table Conference in London?

    (A) Churchill
    (B) Ramsay McDonald
    (C) Chamberlain
    (D) Disraeli
  • 7 Who among the following did not attend the First Round Table Conference?

    (A) MK Gandhi
    (B) Sir Tej Bahadur Sapru
    (C) Dr Ambedkar
    (D) C V Chintamani
  • 8 Who opened the First Round Table Conference?

    (A) King George V
    (B) MK Gandhi
    (C) Lord Irwin
    (D) Ramsay McDonald
  • 9 The historic fait by Gandhi came to an end as a result of the?

    (A) Poona Pact
    (B) Issue of White Paper
    (C) Gandhi-Irwin Pact
    (D) Arrival of Simon Commission
  • 10 'My strongest bulwark is gone' lamented Gandhiji on the death of?

    (A) Gopalakrishna Gokhale
    (B) Motilal Nehru
    (C) Pheroze Shah Mehta
    (D) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
  • 11 When was the First Round Table Conference held?

    (A) 1933
    (B) 1931
    (C) 1930
    (D) 1903
  • 12 Mahatma Gandhi participated In the Second Round Table conference after?

    (A) signing the Gandhi-Irwin Pact of March 1931
    (B) refusing to hold direct talks with the Muslim League
    (C) being permitted by the Congress
    (D) receiving assurance that independence was fast coming
  • 13 In 1930, Mahatma Gandhi started the Civil Disobedience Movement from?

    (A) Wardha
    (B) Sevagram
    (C) Sabarmati
    (D) Dandi
  • 14 The idea of incorporating, safeguards In the Indian Constitution was inspired by the?

    (A) Third Round Table Conference
    (B) Gandhi-Irwin Pact
    (C) Visit of Simon Commission
    (D) Poona Pact
  • 15 Who founded the 'All India Harijan Samaj' in 1932?

    (A) B R Ambedkar
    (B) Acharya Narendra Dev
    (C) Mahatma Gandhi
    (D) Jagjivan Ram
  • 16 To which personality Gandhiji gave the title "Deen Bandhu"?

    (A) Sri Aurobindo
    (B) CF Andrews
    (C) Vinoba Bhave
    (D) CR Das
  • 17 Which of the following leaders died as a result of Injuries sustained during a protest demonstration against Simon Commission?

    (A) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
    (B) Dadabhai Naoroji
    (C) Goplakrishna Gokhale
    (D) LaIa Lajpat Rai
  • 18 Who gave the slogan 'Inquilab Zindabad'?

    (A) Bhagat Singh
    (B) Subhash Chandra Bose
    (C) Md Iqbal
    (D) Chandra Shekhar Azad
  • 19 Who said that the exploitative nature of British rule was 'Bleeding India White'?

    (A) Tilak
    (B) Dadabhai Naoroji
    (C) Hume
    (D) Annie Besant
  • 20 "India for the Indiana" was the political message of?

    (A) D E Wacha
    (B) Vivekanand
    (C) Dayanand
    (D) Hume
  • 21 Which of the following was the 'Newspaper' of Annie Besant?

    (A) The Hindu
    (B) Indian Express
    (C) The Times of India
    (D) New India
  • 22 Aligarh Muslim University was founded by?

    (A) Jinnah
    (B) Syed Ahmed Khan
    (C) Abul Kalam Azad
    (D) Bhutto
  • 23 Who said that the constant 'drain of wealth' from India was responsible for Indla's economic miseries?

    (A) BC Pal
    (B) BP Wadia
    (C) Dadabhai Naoroji
    (D) GS Arundale
  • 24 As per the Act of 1919 which of the following statements was not correct?

    (A) British India must remain an integral part of the British Empire.
    (B) Responsible Government would be realised only by the progressive stages.
    (C) Provincial subjects were classified into Reserved subjects and Transferred subjects.
    (D) The salary of the Secretary of State for India was not to be paid by Parliament.
  • 25 As per the Act of 1919 which of the following was not a Transferred subject?

    (A) Education
    (B) Museum
    (C) Medical Relief
    (D) Land Revenue
  • 26 The Dyarchy which was introduced on 1921 In province a was in force till the year?

    (A) 1927
    (B) 1935
    (C) 1937
    (D) 1947
  • 27 The Home Rule League was formed during the?

    (A) First World War
    (B) Partition of Bengal
    (C) Struggle following the Jallianwala Bagh Massacre
    (D) Implementation of Minto-Morley Reforms
  • 28 The Secretary of State for India was given powers by?

    (A) The Act of 1909
    (B) The Act of 1919
    (C) The Act of 1858
    (D) The Act of 1861
  • 29 Of the following who was not the leader of the Extremists?

    (A) Lokamanya Tilak
    (B) Aurobindo Ghose
    (C) Lala Lajpat Rai
    (D) Hume
  • 30 Satyagraha Sabha was formed by Gandhi at?

    (A) Bombay
    (B) Calcutta
    (C) Gujarat
    (D) Poona